Guides thématiques: Droit: News and Services

A-Z DATABASES - LAW

A-Z Databases - Law
An A-Z list of law databases available at the library.

LAW EBOOKS

Brill
Brill offers access to the archives of scientific journals (1853-2012) devoted to the humanities and social sciences, international law, and biology. As well as research works, published between 1961 and 2020, specialized in Greek and Roman religion.
Cambridge Aspire
Over 1,000 textbooks cover a wide range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences, law, political science and international relations, economics and the environment. Formerly called "Cambridge Higher Education".
Cambridge Core
Several hundred books, including Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Histories Online and a selection of books in Political Science and Law are accessible. As well as all multi-disciplinary journals and the archives of 300 newspapers covering the period 1770-2010.
EbscoHost
Platform providing, via library subscription, access to digital books in the fields of art, economics, law, social sciences, etc.
Jstor
Academic platform for English-language journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online offers over 1,000 hanbooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and law. The full texts of books on Business & Management, Economics & finance, History, Law, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion and Sociology are accessible.
Oxford Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions is a series of books published by Oxford University Press. These books are concise introductions (equivalent to the French “Que sais-je?” and “Repères”) written by experts. Access the full text of hundreds of books in the humanities, social sciences, arts and law.
Proquest Ebook Central
ProQuest EBC provides access to a collection of over 200,000 academic books covering the humanities, social sciences, economics/business and law. Thousands of publishers, including university presses, are represented. In addition, the library acquires dozens of titles a year on this platform.

plus d'info...

The first time you wish to check out an eBook or suggest a new title, Proquest will ask you to create an account, that will be validated by the library, please use your Sciences Po email address.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is a content platform specialising in the sciences and social sciences, offering collections of e-books and journals, as well as protocols, conference proceedings and reference works. The library provides access to around ten Springer journals as well as several hundred scientific journals and thousands of books published by Springer.
Taylor & Francis - ebooks
Taylor & Francis - ebooks offers several thousand full-text books as well as hundreds of articles from books available on the platform. The main fields of study are international relations and politics, social sciences, geography, sociology and philosophy.

ONLINE PRESS

Europresse
Europresse provides access to more than ten thousand sources with national, regional, generalist and specialist press titles, as well as numerous press agency dispatches. Content can be accessed in two ways: by keyword to compile press reviews, or by consulting publications in PDF format. No mobile application.
Factiva
International and multilingual general press platform.
Financial Times
Platform for the Financial Times , the British business and financial daily newspaper.
New York Times
A subscription to The New York Times provides access to the newspaper's articles on its website and mobile version.

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

ZOTERO

Zotero bibliographic management software libguide answers to all your questions about this bibliographic management software and citing your references.

Training : Citing sources with Zotero

RECENTLY ACQUIRED PAPER BOOKS (OCTOBER 2025)

Alogna Ivano, Billiet Carole, Fermeglia Matteo & Holzhausen Alina (eds.). Climate Change Litigation in Europe Regional, Comparative and Sectoral Perspectives. Intersentia. 2024.

Waterman Richard W. Constitutional Ambiguity and the Interpretation of Presidential Power. Suny Press. 2025.

Bikundo Edwin. The Faustian Pact in International Law. Edinburgh. 2024.

Vaidya Anand P. Future of the Forest Struggles over Land and Law in India. Cornell University Press. 2025.

Hernández Gleider Ignacio. International Law. Third Edition. Oxford University Press. 2025.

Coicaud Jean-Marc. The law and politics of international legitimacy. Cambridge. 2025.

Sullivan Gavin. Law of the List: UN Counterterrorism Sanctions and the Politics of Global Security Law. Cambridge. 2020.

Jensen Jody (ed.) & Miszlivetz Ferenc (ed.). Reframing Europe’s future: challenges and failures of the European construction. Routledge. 2015.

RECENTLY ACQUIRED EBOOKS (OCTOBER 2025)

Zander Joakim. The Application of the Precautionary Principle in Practice: Comparative Dimensions. Cambridge University Press. 2010. [Online]

Stan Lavinia (ed.) & Nedelsky Nadia (ed.). Encyclopedia of Transitional Justice. Cambridge. 2023. [Online]

Pehlivan Ceyhun Necati (ed.), Forgó Nikolaus (ed.) & Valcke Peggy (ed.). The EU Artificial Intelligence (AI) Act: A Commentary. Wolters Kluwer. 2024. [Online]

Beckers Anna. The Foundations of European Transnational Private Law. Hart Publishing. 2024. [Online]

Vavoula Niovi. Immigration and Privacy in the Law of the European Union. Brill Nijhoff. 2022. [Online]

Groppi Tania (dir.), Ponthoreau Marie-Claire (dir.) & Spigno Irene (dir.). Judicial Bricolage: The Use of Foreign Precedents by Constitutional Judges in the 21st Century. Hart Publishing. 2025. [En ligne]

von Bogdandy Armin (ed.) & Huber Peter M. (ed.). The Max Planck Handbooks in European Public Law: Volume IV: Constitutional Adjudication: Common Themes and Challenges. Oxford University Press. 2023. [Online]

Egelund Olsen Brigitte, Steinicke Michael & Engsig Sorensen Karsten. WTO Law. From A European Perspective. Kluwer Law International. 2012. [Online]

KEY DATABASES IN ENGLISH

Global Arbitration Review
Online journal specialising in international arbitration.
Heinonline
Heinonline covers areas such as legal history, US politics, government and international law. It provides access to hundreds of full-text law journals, official documents case law and legal doctrine, particularly from the anglophone world and more specifically from North America. It also includes monographs analysing famous court cases and biographies of some of history's greatest lawyers..
Jus Mundi
Jus Mundi is a search engine specialized in international law and investment arbitration, containing international treaties, judgments and arbitral awards.
Kluwer Arbitration
Kluwer Arbitration offers a range of academic journals (such as Revue de l'arbitrage) and several hundred books on international commercial arbitration law. A News section and arbitration tools are also available.
Kluwer Law Online
Kluwer Law Online provides information and an overview of the latest developments in international, regional and national legislation, regulation and case law in a number of different areas. The library provides access to three law journals published by Wolters Kluwer: Common Market Law Review, European Foreign Affairs Review, Journal of World Trade.
Oxford bibliographies Online
Database providing peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries.
Westlaw
Westlaw provides access to numerous jurisdictions, primarily the United States, but also including the European Union, Australia and Korea. It offers comprehensive coverage of legal and legislative sources in these territories. Finally, it offers full-text access to legal journals.
Westlaw UK
Westlaw UK provides access to British case law, including Sweet and Maxwell Law reports. In addition, it offers all consolidated legislation since 1220 for statutes and 1948 for decrees. Additional documentation includes decrees, analyses, books and law reviews. This database complements Westlaw, which covers international law.

KEY DATABASES IN FRENCH

Cairn
Digital library for Humanities and social sciences ; Science, Technology and Medicine ; Law and Administration.
Dalloz
Dalloz provides access to six subject databases: administrative law, civil law, business law, labor law, real estate law and criminal law. In addition, the database provides access to full-text versions of Dalloz journals since 1990.
Éditions Francis lefebvre
Contains encyclopaedias and law reviews published by Francis Lefebvre covering French labor, company and tax laws.
Éditions Législatives
ELnet. guarantees access to the ten or so permanent dictionaries, practical information sheets, models, legal guides and tools published by Editions législatives. The areas covered are employment law, tax law, business law, procedures, public procurement, company difficulties, property law, agricultural law, insurance law, sports law, the environment and nuisances, bioethics and biotechnology, and immigration law.
Lamyline
Lamyline provides access to Lamy legal publications, as well as official national and European texts, treaties and case law in the fields of private, public and European law.
Le Doctrinal
The Doctrinal offers hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records of articles and a hundred or so journals, as well as French and European case law and legislation.
Lexis 360
Lexis 360 intelligence provides access to the resources offered by LexisNexis, including the Jurisclasseurs journals and encyclopedias collection, as well as reference journals such as La Semaine Juridique. Full-text access has been available since 1995. The portal also offers a search facility for case law and doctrine, with 85,000 articles from 150 journals.
Lextenso
Lextenso provides access to dozens of legal journals such as Bulletin Joly Bourse, Bulletin Joly Sociétés, Cahiers de l'arbitrage, Gazette du Palais, Petites Affiches, Répertoire du Notariat Defrénois, Revue des Contrats, Revue générale du Droit des Assurances, etc, as well as judicial, constitutional and administrative case law. The areas covered are private law, public law and criminal sciences. The library does not subscribe to the actu-juridique.fr site, which is the Lextenso news site.
Recueil des Cours de l'Académie de droit international de La Haye
The Coursebook is a comprehensive collection of over 1,000 lectures, published in English and French, given at The Hague Academy of International Law since its foundation in 1923.

LAW LIBRARIAN

Pascal Laffitte
Bibliothécaire référent en droit
Law Librarian
pascal.laffitte@sciencespo.fr
T. +33 (0)1 45 49 56 48

Meet me :

at the Saint-Guillaume library on Monday 13:00-15:00 pm
at the Saint-Thomas library on Thursday 9:00-10:30 am

LEGAL CITATIONS

Cardiff University - Index to Legal Abbreviations
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
Heinonline - Citation Format Guide
The Bluebook is the standard guide to legal citation form.

plus d'info...

On the homepage, click on 'Advanced Search', then select 'Citation Format Guide', to the right of the screen.
Legal Information Institute
Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute's online Introduction to Basic Legal Citation.
Universal Citation in International Arbitration - Second Edition
A manual of citation specifically for use in international arbitration. Second Edition (2023). Downloadable PDF.

Guides thématiques

Droit