Retrieve a reference automatically from the web
Sync & backup
Changing style in the course of a project
Sciences Po School of Research style
Examples of French styles in SSH
Citations & bibliographies
Generating a bibliography in your word processor
Generating a bibliography in Zotero
Access and administration rights
To sum up
In Windows : a Zotero bar is automatically installed in the word processing software (Word and LibreOffice).
You insert citations into your manuscript directly in the software interface.
Please note: Zotero Standalone must be open when inserting bibliographic references from your word processor.
If you have any problem, see the section on Using Zotero in your word processor
In the word processor:
Exemple with Tapuscrit style (Author-Date)
"In working environment, organizations are taking in consideration the elevated performance expectation of the employee and its impact on their emotional state as well as the role in increasing their stress level (Carroll, 2011). Furthermore, the expectations often lead to the anxiety among employees in their working environment (Ibid)."
Many of the styles offered are footnote styles. Footnotes are inserted into your document in the same way as in-text citations, but in a different style.
Please refer to the “In-text citations” section.
Exemple with Tapuscrit style (note):
In your word processor: it’s possible to open Classic View once you’ve clicked Add/Edit Citation, by clicking on the red .
A new window appears with more possibilities:
You can use Zotero to automatically generate a bibliography, formatted according to a pre-selected style:
A Zotero extension also exists for Google Docs. Zotero’s compatibility with Google Docs works through the Zotero Connector for Chrome and Firefox, which adds a new tab to the Google Docs interface.
It also adds a button in the toolbar for citations in one-click.
For more details, check out the Zotero blog.
When you have already entered several bibliographic references in your word processing software, as citations or footnotes, simply click on the software’s Zotero tab .
The bibliography is automatically generated in the style you chose initially.
If you add new citations/footnotes, click to automatically update the final bibliography.
Please note: It is possible to add a reference that does not appear in a citation or footnote to the final bibliography:
Please note: it is better to do this once you’ve finished writing your document.
Once you have finished a piece of work, including citations or footnotes and bibliography, you can choose to lock in this version of your bibliographic references by clicking
This removes the field codes and the link between Zotero and the document will be broken. Any subsequent changes made to the bibliographic references in Zotero will have no effect on this particular document (so remember to make a copy).
Anna Couthures-Idrizi, Sophie Forcadell & Noémie Prevel
or come to the research library (no appointment necessary)
Thursday from 12 pm to 4:30 pm // Wenesday, 4:30 pm to 7:30 pm